Franz Nicolay’s writing has appeared in The New York Times, Slate, The Paris Review Daily, The Kenyon Review Online, Ploughshares, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Threepenny Review, LitHub, Longreads, Fiction Advocate, The Week, VICE, Noisey, Talkhouse, NewMusicBox, Blender, Impose, InDigest, Vol. 1 Brooklyn, and elsewhere. He was a contributor to the anthologies It All Changed In An Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs; Rock Torch: Volume 1, a collection of musicians recommending other musicians; The Road Most Traveled, a collection of essays about touring life; and Waiting To Be Forgotten: Stories of Crime and Heartbreak Inspired by The Replacements. He studied writing at Columbia University (where he was awarded a Felipe P. de Alba Fellowship). He was awarded writing fellowships by the Ucross Foundation and the Edward F. Albee Foundation, and has taught at Bard College, Columbia University, and UC Berkeley.

THL cover

His first book, The Humorless Ladies of Border Control: Touring the Punk Underground from Belgrade to Ulaanbaatar (The New Press, 2016), was named a “Season’s Best Travel Book” by The New York Times (read press here).

“Franz Nicolay has always been the kind of musician who can sound like he’s roaming the world in the course of a single song. In this amazing road tale he captures how it feels for a wandering artist, scrounging in the underground punk scenes of Russia and the Balkans—sleepless nights and shaky trains, see strong beer and unsavory companions–watching history turn inside out.” —Rob Sheffield (“Love Is A Mixtape,” Rolling Stone)

“If there isn’t already a shelf for Classic Punk Literature, we need to build it and stock it with Franz Nicolay. Part low-budget tour diary and part Slavic history lesson, this book is a love letter to the punk vie boheme; a delicious and hilarious borscht stew of untold histories, literary references, beautiful strangers and backstage vodka.” —Amanda Palmer (musician, author of The Art of Asking)

“Funny and wistful, The Humorless Ladies of Border Control is an engrossing romp that casts fresh eyes on Old World cultures rich in paradox. Franz Nicolay taps into the current cultural zeitgeist in the best travelogue tradition, with vivid scenes capturing the absurdities of daily life in the context of history and a deft reading of some of the most important cultural figures.” —Gregory Feifer (NYTimes best-selling author of Russians: The People Behind the Power)

“A truly remarkable book. On the surface, it’s a tour diary of shows around the wilder reaches of Eastern Europe and Russia, which would be interesting in itself. In actual fact, however, Franz has written a profound and perceptive travelogue in the vein of Paul Theroux or Rebecca West; like them, he teaches you about the places he visits, about the people he meets, about a forgotten but fascinating corner of world culture, and ultimately, about himself.” —Frank Turner (musician, author of The Road Beneath My Feet)

His second book (and first novel) Someone Should Pay For Your Pain is forthcoming in August 2021 on Gibson House Press.

Wise, brutal and funny, Someone Should Pay for Your Pain is a bruising and beautiful glimpse of the endless tour of broken dreams some of us call life. But as Franz Nicolay shows in this stunning fiction debut, there is still hope. You just might have to fight yourself for it. —Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask

I love this for novel for its sensitivity to the tenderness and absurdity of human after human, city after city, year after year. Someone Should Pay for Your Pain is a marvel, and when I finished it, my first emotion was to return to the opening pages and read it all over again. —Rivka Galchen, author of Atmospheric Disturbances

If you’ve been waiting for the great rock and roll novel look no further. Franz Nicolay’s Someone Should Pay for Your Pain smashes Don Delillo’s “Great Jones Street” against a chaste “Lolita.” Nicolay’s book focuses on the illusion of stardom and the reality that most musicians play mainly in dingy clubs to sparse if passionate fans. Rudy, the book’s hero, lays down insights into art making as well as the wide variety of hangovers all the while moving fitfully toward a great dilation of care. —Darcey Steinke, author of Suicide Blonde

Someone Should Pay For Your Pain is a poignant and powerfully honest meditation on aging, art-making, and failure. With a sharp ear and an unsparing eye, Franz Nicolay has reinvented the road novel, stripping it of wide-eyed, Kerouac-ian grandeur to expose the frozen landscapes—both external and internal—that are part and parcel of a rootless existence. It’s a book that will haunt me for a long time to come.
 —Adam Wilson, author of Sensation Machines

“Nicolay’s ear goes beyond music. There is confidence and grace in these pages, characters that feel pulled from daily life, none of their rough edges sanded down. A debut novel not just for artists, but anyone who’s ever felt like they’ve grown up and distorted, uncomfortable moving through the world.” —Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl

The life of an artist is really about giving. That’s especially so for the musician. You give all of yourself to your art and it’s likely you won’t get much back in return. It’s a tough world, but few can write about it as beautifully as Franz Nicolay. With Someone Should Pay for Your Pain, Nicolay gives us the sort of fully-realized, there’s no going back kind of story that’s hauntingly reminiscent of something between Denis Johnson and Nick Hornby, but filtered through the lens of somebody who has actually gotten in the van. —Jason Diamond, author of The Sprawl

Franz Nicolay’s poetic takedown of a musician’s extended adolescence goes down smoother than a drink ticket beer. Read it before you get in the van. —Chris Terry, author of Black Card

Rudy Pauver is a middle-aged musician with mid-level talent, still out there on the road, still grinding, still trying, but he’s not quite sure why. In this beautifully and brutally honest novel, Franz Nicolay challenges our romantic notions of freedom and the working artist’s life. He crafts a story that any reader, mired in the daily disappointments of what their life was supposed to have been, can embrace. —Cari Luna, author of The Revolution of Every Day

It’ll be followed in 2022 by Band People, a study of the working and creative lives of musicians, for the American Music Series at University of Texas Press.

The four Complicated Gardening Techniques chapbooks are permanently out of print.

RECENT WRITING ONLINE

Wagner Was Too Big To CancelSlate, October 2020

Where Is My Wandering Boy Tonight?Hyped On Melancholy, June 2020

Gould/Solitude,” Moistworks, June 2020

Housebreaker,” Hindsight Magazine (short fiction), February 2020

The Outlined Subject,” Ploughshares, June 2019

“If It Happened Here: Dubravka Ugresic’s American Fictionary,” Threepenny Review, Spring 2019

Mermaid Lounge Was A Total Circus,” Punch Drink, November 2018

Why Charles Aznavour’s Global Fame Never Reached American Shores,” The Paris Review Daily, October 2018

Non Fui, Fui, Non Sum, Non Curo,” Kenyon Review Online (short fiction), Sept/Oct. 2018

Gene Fowler: Prince of the Purple,” Threepenny Review, Summer 2018

The 21st-Century Family Band,” Slate, February 2018

Sing, Muse: Three New Books on Literature and Pop Music,” The LA Review of Books (book review), October 2017

‘Good Booty’: The Sexual Power of Music,” The New York Times (book review), August 2017

The Rise and Decline of the ‘Sell-out’,” Slate, July 2017

De-Graded: Music Criticism and Regressive Reading” (op-ed), Watt, July 2017

Was This It?” (book review), Slate, June 2017

On Listening to Jens Lekman in January 2017,” The Talkhouse, February 2017

The Inevitable Institutionalization of Rock,” Watt, December 2016

A Stranger In The World,” Longreads, October 2016

Dispatches From A Punk Tour of the Balkans,” LitHub, 2016

The Hotel Mongolia,” Fiction Advocate, 2016

Editorial: The Fair Play Fair Pay Act and why copyright law needs to change,” Punknews, 2016

What You Missed When You Stopped Listening At Prince’s Best-known Albums,” The Week, 2016

“Changing The Country, We Apologize For The Inconvenience” Part One Part Two Part ThreeNoisey/Vice, 2014